How I Celebrated My 40th Birthday (Saturday)

My 40th birthday celebrations were on Saturday and Sunday! What did I do? A trip to New York? A holiday in the Maldives? A huge surprise party with long lost friends…? No, I didn’t do any of those things. I just wanted a weekend of doing all the things I really love, with Wigs. We’d planned to go to the coast, but there was no surf. So this is how it went…

Saturday

I wake up to glorious sunshine and it shines all day, the birds are singing – how lovely!

Swimming

Swim Hat & GogglesWe start off with a swim at my local pool.  I normally swim 9 stokes per breath. Today I’m on 11, sometimes 13 so my body must be relaxed. I get a delicious memory of paddling on my board in the sea, knowing that each stroke in the pool makes me stronger for catching waves. I focus on powering through and love the sensation of gliding through the water. I’m feeling good and pop under the rope into the fast lane. Wigs swims behind me and then overtakes me. I see a mass of chest and belly loom up to my left. I’m already on the rope and have no where to go. I huff and go back into the medium lane. I’m miffed for a few minutes but we both have a good giggle about it later. I feel lively.

Juicing

We stop by the Co-Op for some veggies and I make us each a pint of apple, IMG_3042pineapple, kale and lime juice. It’s sweet with a real lime zing and picks me right up! Who needs Rowntrees Sours? The sky is clear and blue and I  want to be outdoors so I ask Wigs for a skateboard lesson. This could end in tears.

Skateboarding

Lava Flo Skate GearWe drive round the corner to a skate friendly park with a skate bowl. No one is around, the path is smooth tarmac and there’s soft grass to land on. After a few false starts, I brave some longer runs. My braking skills need practice. I’m meant to be balancing gracefully,  gently scuffing my sole on the path, like a brake pad. I slam my foot onto the tarmac and it bounces back up (which doesn’t help to slow me down) – I go for the ‘run-out’ instead, my skateboard safely stopping on the grass as I sprint past it. It works well until I start going faster – my legs don’t seem to support me so well then. I’m running but the ground is getting closer like I’m drunk and made of lead. It’s scary and hilarious at the same time.  My biggest run has me falling on my bum as I don’t have the skills to stop and Wigs tries to catch-me but can’t. That’s why I wore knee pads, elbow pads, a helmet and gloves. Wigs chuckles as he doesn’t need any of that, but I don’t take myself too seriously and I’m not worried about looking cool.

Cycling

Lava Flo CyclingWe make some lunch, potter about the house together and let our tummies settle. Then we kit up ready for a road cycle. We follow our prep routine as follows: I scratch my head wondering how many layers to wear, if I’ll be too cold or too hot. Wigs beavers away, unlocking bikes, pumping tyres, filling water bottles, and being manly so all I have to do is cycle. It’s a lovely ride today on our 17 mile loop. Just a few miles out of town and we’re in the country side. The roads are quiet, people are taking strolls, walking dogs. I change through the gears to go as fast as I can down hill and go on to my drops. I hit 25mph whizzing along as fast as the cars. On the inside I’m squealing “woo hoooo!” On the outside I’m blowing my nose from the icy head-wind. The saddle is killing me today after just 10 minutes. After 30 it turns to agony and begins to feel like a sledge hammer on my sit bones. I refuse to be beaten and focus my mind on enjoying the down hills and speeding round bends. I make it home, limp indoors and immediately google “Ladies, Cycle Shorts, Pain”.

Eating Out

Loco LoungeMy body feels like jelly now. I nearly roll down the stairs on my way out (good job I was holding the hand rail!) We walk to our local cafe/bar to sit outside in the sun, but the chilly wind has picked up. So we opt for hearty plates indoors at Loco Lounge, sitting next to each other on an old leather sofa. A cheeky Ginger Bramble cocktail for me, a beer for Wigs and we share a risotto, veggie burger and chips between us. It barely touches the sides. Sainsbury’s is still open, and we buy some birthday pie – apple pie. It was the best birthday pie ever.

 A Film

We start watching ‘Rover’ to wind down. I’m completely pooped and fall asleep on Wigs’. He wakes me up to go upstairs and sleep in the bed. I was cosy and my body was in furnace mode, the point when you’ve heated up like a hot jacket potato and don’t want to be disturbed. I lollop upstairs like a grizzly bear awoken from hibernation and throw myself under the duvet.

I’m out for the count. It was a fantastic day. I can’t wait for more on Sunday…

Video

Here’s the video of my skateboard lesson:

Sunday

I’ll tell you all about Sunday in my next post!

Your thoughts

