How I Celebrated My 40th Birthday (Sunday)

(If you missed Saturday, you can read it here)

Sunday

After such an amazing day on Saturday, what could I do on Sunday? It was a bit overcast in the morning, so maybe some indoor activities?

Rock Climbing

11153375_1003217343044255_1729485758_oI gear up excitedly for climbing. I cut my nails back just short of my skin – no talons on these grippers! It’s cold, I put my woolly hat and jumper on and jog on the spot.

The instructors give us a warm welcome and we limber up on a 4+, a couple of 5’s and 5+’s. Then we get bolder and go for a 6a. We’re out of practice and it feels tough. I get stuck half way. I have to heave my foot up so my knee is up around my ear and stand up on it with nothing else to grab onto until I’m upright. My body is trembling. With all my weight over my big toe, I roar like Wolverine and use every muscle in my leg to push up and grab a hold above my head. I grin and Wigs shouts “Well done Babe!”.

One more 6a to finish. Wigs picks a wall that’s leaning back into the room. Ouch! It’s going to be a full body work out. He works his way up, decoding the route, taking breaks on the way. Then it’s my turn. After seeing how hard it was I’m not planning on hanging around. The holds give me enough grip to swing from left to right like a chimpanzee so I keep swinging and lunging and don’t stop ’til I get to the top. I feel exhilarated and we have a good belly laugh at my monkey style.

Smoothie

Mango, Kale, Banana & Cinnamon SmoothierWe drive to the pool for another swim, only to be turned away – it’s closed for the Swimathon event – darn it! Back home, I make a Mango, Kale, Banana and Cinnamon smoothie to keep us going. We watch the end of ‘Rover’ and my body starts to shut down making me cold and sleepy. I don’t want to cut my birthday weekend short, so I have a 45 minute nap to recharge. I wake up flustered and my head is spinning but I’m determined to fit a bit more in, so I glug a pint of cold water and jump into my motorbiking kit.

Motorbiking

11158138_1003399013026088_1271180706_nI put fresh air in my tyres, rev the dust of the engine and boom I’m ready to rock! Wigs explains the route and I set off as lead. It’s pure bliss from the moment I take the first right hander. The bike tips in and floats around like I’ve never been out the saddle. I remind myself to keep my hips and shoulders relaxed, dropping my shoulder into the turns and the ride just flows. We get to the country lanes and only one or two cars are around. I blast past them so I can take the straights and bends as fast as I like. The wind rushes through my helmet with the smell of freshly cut grass. I lean into corners and accelerate through, feeling free like an eagle soaring above the hedgerows. We stop at some lights and Wigs pulls up next to me and asks if I want to carry on or head back. I’m about to scrunch my face up to show he must be insane – head back? Then I remember that he’s not a mind reader, even though according to Rom’ Com’s he’s meant to be. So I smile like a cheshire cat and shout through my helmet “CARRY ON!”

 A Film

It’s 6pm and there’s only 45 minutes before “John Wick” starts. We wrench our gear off, throw pasta into pans, hurl water over it, dive into the shower, change clothes yet again, cram food into our mouths and drive like Furious 7 to Cineworld, making it just in time for the start.

Afterwards I’m completely and utterly shattered and also thoroughly contented and fulfilled. It was my favourite kind of weekend and what’s more it was my 40th birthday weekend. When can I do it again?

Monday & Tuesday

Read how the celebrations continued on Monday & Tuesday

Your thoughts

